London 2012 Olympics: One day to go

Olympic countdown clock with 1d, 1h, 1m, 1s to go

On the evening before the opening ceremony of the London 2012 Olympic Games I went to Trafalgar Square. My intention was to catch the countdown clock with exactly one day to go, or rather when it changed from days to go to merely hours until the start of the opening ceremony. I thought the clock was counting down until 20:12 on 27 July, but I got my facts wrong as the official start of the opening ceremony was not until 21:00. So I was a bit too early and instead got the clock with 1day, 1 hour, 1 minute and 1 second to go.

Olympic countdown clock with 1d, 1h, 1m, 1s to go

It was a beautiful summer’s evening and the atmosphere was filled with anticipation.  London Ambassador volunteers in pink and purple uniforms were busy handing out maps and answering questions, a little boy took a ride on the back of one of the lions at the foot of Nelson’s Column and some Brazilian football fans in tiger suits stopped by on their return from watching their team play earlier. I asked them if I could take a picture and they agreed as long as they could have my Games Maker cap in the picture. The lovely woman was very disappointed when I told her that she wouldn’t be able to buy the cap anywhere as it was part of my volunteer uniform.

The big question was hanging in the air: How would London adapt to being an Olympic host city once more?

Leave a Reply

